MORGAN COUNTY LEGISLATIVE BODY

September 11, 2023

Be it remembered that a Morgan County Legislative Session was begun and held in the town of Wartburg, Tennessee on the 11th day of September 2023. The Honorable Brian Langley was present and presiding.

Captain Mike Wren called the session to order.

The following members were present:

David Hennessee, Vernon Justes, Kenneth Morgan, Bobby Gibson, Susie Kries, Melissa Bryant, Gary Kennedy, Rick Plank, Janet Adkisson, Eli Anderson, Debbie Lively, Terry Jackson, Randy Roberts, Steve Walls, Johnny Lindsay, Vera Scarbrough and Fred Snow

Absent were: Doug Vespie

Also present: Crystal Garrett, Morgan County Finance Director and Morgan County Clerk Cheryl Collins where and when the following had and entered to wit:

Executive Langley recognized 9/11 ceremony this morning and a moment of silence was observed.

Invocation was led by Officer CJ Porter

Pledge of Allegiance was led by Officer CJ Porter

Executive Langley stated that there is an opening in the commission in District 2- he stated the 5 names of citizens that applied for the position and are as follows:

Kenneth Bray Earl Headrick Jesse Jones John "Goose" Lindsay Kasey Perkins

Commissioner Justes made a motion to nominate all candidates for the 2nd District Commissioner position and vote on them, Commissioner Roberts.

Motion passed unanimously.

Executive Langley stated that a roll call would be taken for voting for the open position in the 2nd District

David Hennessee - Earl Headrick

Bobby Gibson Lindsay Susie Kries Lindsay Melissa Bryant -Gary Kennedy -Lindsay Lindsay Rick Plank Lindsay Janet Adkisson Lindsay Eli Anderson Lindsay Debbie Lively Lindsay Lindsay Terry Jackson Randy Roberts Lindsay Steve Walls Lindsay Vera Scarbrough -Lindsay Fred Snow Lindsay

Mr. Lindsay was appointed to the position and sworn in so that he may be involved in tonight's meeting.

Executive Langley opened the floor for nominations for Chairman of County Commission. Commissioner Hennessee nominated Brian Langley for Chairman; Commissioner Justes seconded.

Commissioner Snow made a motion to cease nominations and elect Mr. Langley Chairman by acclamation, Commissioner Justes seconded.

Motion passed unanimously.

Executive Langley opened the floor for nominations for Chairman Pro-Temp of County Commission. Commissioner Justes nominated Vera Scarbrough as Chairman Pro-Temp; Commissioner Roberts seconded.

Commissioner Snow made a motion to cease nominations and elect Mrs. Scarbrough Chairman Pro-Temp by acclamation, Commissioner Justes seconded.

Motion passed unanimously.

Executive Langley introduced Senator Ken Yager and allowed him to address the Commission. He discussed several bills that were passed in the special session. During the regular session was proud of the Road Modernization bill and Business Tax Cut bill.

Chairman Langley Executive Report:

Glades Store Opening **Chamber Meeting Audit Committee JECDB Meeting** Sunbright Bluegrass
TCAC – Crystal Gibson Association of Mayors

Public Hearing - PUD - Sewer

Citizens Comments:

Commissioner Hennessee wanted to thank several individuals for their help in cleaning up Hwy 27 near Fairgrounds as well as Hwy 328 going into Oakdale.

#1 - Approval of Minutes and Financial Statements

Motion made by Commissioner Justes and seconded by Commissioner Roberts to approve the August 14, 2023, minutes.

Motion passed unanimously (15/0)

#2 - Notaries - Gina Ellis, James Harlan

Motion made by Commissioner Scarbrough to approve the aforementioned notaries applicants: Commissioner Kennedy seconded.

Motion passed unanimously. (17/0)

#3 - Motion - To Approve Re-appointment of Members to the Economic **Development Board**

Commissioner Justes made a motion to approve the re-appointment of the following members to the Economic Development Board

2nd District – Danny Cox (4-year) 4th District – Carla LaRue (4-year) 5th District - Aaron Freels (2-year) 6th District - CA Kelly (2-year)

Commissioner Kries seconded.

Motion passed unanimously. (17/0)

Budget Committee

#4 - Motion - Budget Amendment 101-8 - Election Commission

Commissioner Roberts made a motion to approve budget amendment 101-8 for Election Commission in the amount of \$2,402.59, Commissioner Hennessee seconded. This is for match to a grant.

Motion passed unanimously. (17/0)

#5 - Motion - Budget Amendment 101-9 - Ambulance/EMS

Commissioner Roberts made a motion to approve budget amendment 101-9 for Ambulance/EMS in the amount of \$455.00, Commissioner Kries seconded. To move money to purchase t-shirts.

Motion passed unanimously. (17/0)

#6 - Motion - Budget Amendment 101-10 - County Commission

Commissioner Roberts made a motion to approve budget amendment 101-10 for County Commission in the amount of \$510.00, Commissioner Justes seconded. Contribution to high schools to allow students to attend UT Ag Extension conference and donation to Safe Haven.

Motion passed unanimously. (17/0)

#7 - Motion - Budget Amendment 116-2 - Sanitation Management

Commissioner Roberts made a motion to approve budget amendment 116-2 for Sanitation Management in the amount of \$40,000.00, Commissioner Hennessee seconded. Build shop building for Solid Waste operations.

Motion passed unanimously. (17/0)

#8 - Motion - BOE - #5-10

Commissioner Roberts made a motion to approve budget amendments from Board of Education #5-10, Commissioner Hennessee seconded.

Motion passed unanimously. (17/0)

#9 - Motion - Surplus Chairs at Visitors Center

Commissioner Roberts made a motion to approve the surplus of some chairs from Visitors Center, Commissioner Justes seconded.

Motion passed unanimously. (17/0)

Executive Langley stated that he would be on vacation the week of County Commission and asked if they would like to reschedule or go on as usual. The commission decided to reschedule the meeting for October 16th.

There being no further business to come before the board, Commissioner Roberts made a motion to adjourn, Commissioner Justes seconded.

Meeting Schedule

Budget Meeting - Monday - October 16 - 6:00 pm Commission Meeting - Monday - October 16 - 7:00 pm